I’m really hating my current assignment for my online writing course. Debating on whether I’m even going to do it. I’m supposed to write about a far-fetched but extremely desirable goal of mine and outline steps I can take to accomplish said goal.  My problem?  Every goal I conceive involves my boys’ futures, not mine. I didn’t even realize that I was supposed to have goals at this point in my life?  REALLY?  Does “live long enough to collect social security” count as a viable goal?  Well, it is certainly far-fetched since funding for social security will be nonexistent in 30 years. How about “owning a mcmansion in Corolla”? That’s more laughable than collecting social security!! (And I don’t know what steps to take for that since winning the lottery is completely out of my control!) I do want to travel the world and be a part of other cultures and take pictures of the people and write about how enlightened I am because of such a journey. But what can I do now … well, tomorrow and next week and the upcoming year … to get me across the globe, with Wayne (who stresses when traveling and is constantly paranoid that we are going to be robbed), with all costs covered by someone else? To dream the impossible dream.  It’s quite depressing. If anyone has a step-by-step guide on how to achieve their far-fetched goal, be kind and share, please. In the meantime, I’ll be wishing on a dandelion!

 

