It’s that time of year again.  In 9 days, I’ll be urgently encouraging the boys to get dressed, brush their teeth and hair and insisting they not watch cartoons while doing so.  I’ll be agonizing over their lunch boxes and snacks.  And I will breathe a huge sigh of relief (while wiping away a tear) when they shut the van door and wave to me as they enter their school for a new school year.

But in the meantime, I will overdose on my absurd but harmlessly sinful addiction to school supplies.  This is the only time of the year I will allow myself to visit numerous office supply stores … even after the school supply lists have been checked off.  I will wander aimlessly down the aisles, daring to fondle the cold, smooth surfaces of binders, sheet protectors, sharpies, etc.  After a quick peek to make sure my actions are not being observed, I will even deeply inhale the overwhelmingly new plastic smell of a pencil pouch and savor the possibilities while flipping the pages of the immaculate composition books.  Yes, school supplies are my cocaine.  And that’s okay with me — I have at least 16 more years of “using”.  And if any of you share the same addiction (and aren’t ashamed to admit it), then join me next week when I get my annual fix!!

